Skip to content

LRT3 Shah Alam Line 2026: Station List and Fares

An elevated rail viaduct curving on tall concrete piers over an empty road at dawn — LRT3 Shah Alam Line 2026: Station List and Fares
Last verified

Every figure above was checked against the source on that date. If it moves, this page moves.

The short answer

The Shah Alam Line is in passenger service between Bandar Utama and Johan Setia, with 20 stations and two interchanges. Tap in with a Touch ’n Go card or buy a ticket from a machine inside the station; the token from the other lines is not accepted here.

Key numbers
20 stations over 37.8 km, numbered SA01 to SA26 with six numbers unused
Fares
RM 0.80 to RM 4.90 cash · RM 0.80 to RM 4.30 cashless · RM 0.40 to RM 2.40 concession
Hours
Stations open 0600H daily · last southbound from Bandar Utama 2356H Monday to Saturday
Official source
Rapid KL’s Shah Alam Line page and the Shah Alam Line fare table, data as at 6 June 2026

Correction — verified 21 September 2026

This page previously described the Shah Alam Line (LRT3) as still in testing and opening in Q2 2026, listed 25 stations including five station names that appear on no official Rapid KL list, and said official fares had not been published, so it printed estimated figures instead.

None of that holds. The line has been carrying passengers since at least June 2026, with over a million riders a month on Prasarana’s own ridership table for the two most recent months. Rapid KL’s own service page and route map list 20 stations, not 25 — the numbering runs to SA26 but six numbers (SA04, SA08, SA11, SA13, SA16, SA25) are not used. The fare table below is read directly from Rapid Rail’s own published fare table.

Sources: Rapid KL Shah Alam Line page, Shah Alam Line route map, Rail Integrated Fare Table (data as at 6 June 2026), Prasarana ridership statistics. The article below has been fully rewritten against these official sources; nothing from the old version carries over.

The Shah Alam Line is open, running, and carried over a million passengers in each of the two most recent months in Prasarana’s own table — and much of what is written about it online still has it in testing, still has it opening “next quarter”, and still has it at 25 stations. Alamak. This page is the line as its operator publishes it, and nothing else.

Everything below was read off official pages on 21 September 2026: the stations, hours and frequency from Rapid KL’s Shah Alam Line page and its route map; the fares from the Shah Alam Line fare table, which Rapid Rail dates “Data as at 6 June 2026” ; the passes, feeder buses and vans from the line’s own brochure; the parking and the ridership from Prasarana’s own pages. Where an official page prints no figure, none is printed here either.

Quick Answer: the Shah Alam Line runs 37.8 km from Bandar Utama to Johan Setia with 20 stations , meeting the MRT Kajang Line at Bandar Utama and the LRT Kelana Jaya Line at Glenmarie 2 . Stations open at 0600H every day . End to end is RM 4.30 with a Touch ’n Go card, RM 4.90 in cash and RM 2.40 on a concession ticket . The single journey token that works on every other Rapid KL rail line does not work on this one — the Shah Alam Line issues a ticket instead .

  • The number that is wrong nearly everywhere else: 20 stations, not 25. The numbering does run to SA26, but SA04, SA08, SA11, SA13, SA16 and SA25 appear on no official list read on 21 September 2026 .
  • The cheapest way through the gate: the cashless column is lower than the cash column on almost every pair — RM 4.30 against RM 4.90 end to end — and the concession column is lower again, but a concession ticket can only be bought at the customer service counter .
  • The thing the operator has not said: its own pages give no date for when passenger service began. The Prime Minister’s speech at the line’s launch on 28 June 2026, published by the Prime Minister’s Office, said fares would be free from 29 June, the next day; the Shah Alam Line column in Prasarana’s own ridership table is blank until June 2026 .


LRT3 Shah Alam Line 2026: Station List and Fares — a step-by-step gazetteThe routeStation orderUnused codes

What the Shah Alam Line is, and where it runs

Rapid KL calls it the Shah Alam Line, or SAL; the project name most people still use is LRT3. On the operator’s own pages it sits under LRT beside the Kelana Jaya and Ampang / Sri Petaling lines, and the service page describes a medium-capacity rapid transit system connecting Petaling Jaya, Shah Alam and Klang, from Bandar Utama Station to Johan Setia Station on the western corridor of the Klang Valley .

The physical facts are short. The line is 37.8 km long with 20 stations, and 2.5 km of that is a tunnel . Each train carries 624 passengers . Six stations have dedicated parking . Operations sit with Rapid Rail Sdn Bhd, the Prasarana subsidiary that already runs the Kelana Jaya, Ampang, Sri Petaling, Monorail, Kajang and Putrajaya lines; its corporate page says “In 2026, it started managing operations of the Shah Alam Line” and its management list now carries a Head, Shah Alam Line .

All 20 stations, in the official order

This is the list as Rapid KL prints it. The route map uses zero-padded numbers, SA01 through SA26; the fare table drops the zero and writes SA1 to SA26; the station closing tables use the bare number. They are the same numbering .

No.StationInterchangePark N’ Ride
SA01Bandar UtamaMRT Kajang Line—
SA02Kayu Ara—350 bays
SA03BU 11 (Bandar Utama 11)——
SA05Damansara Idaman—150 bays
SA06Subang——
SA07Glenmarie 2LRT Kelana Jaya Line—
SA09Kerjaya——
SA10Stadium Shah Alam——
SA12Dato’ Menteri——
SA14UiTM Shah Alam——
SA15Seksyen 7 Shah Alam——
SA17Bandar Baru Klang——
SA18Pasar Klang—58 bays
SA19Jalan Meru——
SA20Jambatan Kota——
SA21Taman Selatan——
SA22Seri Andalas—550 bays
SA23Klang Jaya——
SA24Bandar Bukit Tinggi—600 bays
SA26Johan Setia—519 bays
Station numbers and names as printed on Rapid KL’s Shah Alam Line route map; the interchanges as stated on the service page; the parking bays from Rapid KL’s Park N’ Ride page. All read on 21 September 2026. The fare table drops the leading zero and prints the same numbers SA1 to SA26.

Four names get mistyped constantly. SA07 is Glenmarie 2, with the numeral, because the Kelana Jaya Line already has a Glenmarie. SA18 is Pasar Klang, not Pasar Besar Klang. SA20 is Jambatan Kota, and SA22 is Seri Andalas with an “e” .

The six numbers that are on no official list

The numbering goes up to 26 and only twenty numbers are used. SA04, SA08, SA11, SA13, SA16 and SA25 are missing, and they are missing consistently: not on the route map, not in the Monday-to-Saturday closing table, not in the Sunday and public holiday closing table, and not as a row or a column in any of the three fare matrices . Six gaps in a numbering scheme that a transport operator set before opening day is not an accident, but the operator does not say what they are for, and this page will not guess.

What can be said is what the official pages do not contain. Lists written before the line opened often carry 25 stations and name five of them as stations that had been cancelled and then reinstated. None of those names appears against any of the six unused numbers on any page read on 21 September 2026. Two of the names turn up in the brochure, but not as stations: Temasya Glenmarie and Bandar Botanik are printed as Rapid KL On-Demand van zones, served from Glenmarie 2 and Bandar Bukit Tinggi respectively . If you were told you could catch a train at Bandar Botanik, what officially exists there today is a van.

The two interchanges, and what they do not include

There are two, and the service page names them plainly: connectivity with the LRT Kelana Jaya Line at Glenmarie Station, and with the MRT Kajang Line at Bandar Utama Station . The brochure counts the same two and lists them by their Shah Alam Line names, Bandar Utama and Glenmarie 2 . So the line has one interchange at each end of its northern half: Bandar Utama for the MRT into the middle of Kuala Lumpur, Glenmarie 2 for the Kelana Jaya Line to KLCC, Pasar Seni and KL Sentral.

Here is the part nobody mentions. Rapid KL’s integrated fare table, which prices a journey across the LRT, MRT, Monorail and BRT Sunway lines in one matrix, is published separately from the Shah Alam Line table — and the Shah Alam Line table prices only journeys between Shah Alam Line stations . No published table gives you Johan Setia to KL Sentral as a single figure. The rail fare calculator on that same page is what the operator offers instead.

LRT3 Shah Alam Line 2026: Station List and Fares — an elevated station platform with closed platform screen doors

What a ride costs: the official fare table

Rapid Rail publishes three full matrices for this line — cash, cashless and concession — as one image on the fare table page, dated “Data as at 6 June 2026” . Each matrix is four hundred cells, unreadable on a phone, so what follows is the part most people need: every fare to and from each of the two termini.

ToCash / ticketCashlessConcession
SA01 Bandar UtamaRM 0.80RM 0.80RM 0.40
SA02 Kayu AraRM 1.20RM 1.10RM 0.60
SA03 BU 11 (Bandar Utama 11)RM 1.60RM 1.50RM 0.80
SA05 Damansara IdamanRM 2.10RM 1.90RM 1.00
SA06 SubangRM 2.60RM 2.30RM 1.30
SA07 Glenmarie 2RM 2.90RM 2.60RM 1.50
SA09 KerjayaRM 3.40RM 3.00RM 1.60
SA10 Stadium Shah AlamRM 3.70RM 3.20RM 1.80
SA12 Dato’ MenteriRM 3.90RM 3.40RM 1.90
SA14 UiTM Shah AlamRM 3.70RM 3.20RM 1.80
SA15 Seksyen 7 Shah AlamRM 4.00RM 3.40RM 1.90
SA17 Bandar Baru KlangRM 4.30RM 3.80RM 2.10
SA18 Pasar KlangRM 3.70RM 3.30RM 1.80
SA19 Jalan MeruRM 3.80RM 3.30RM 1.90
SA20 Jambatan KotaRM 4.10RM 3.50RM 2.00
SA21 Taman SelatanRM 4.30RM 3.70RM 2.10
SA22 Seri AndalasRM 4.40RM 3.80RM 2.20
SA23 Klang JayaRM 4.50RM 3.90RM 2.20
SA24 Bandar Bukit TinggiRM 4.70RM 4.10RM 2.30
SA26 Johan SetiaRM 4.90RM 4.30RM 2.40
Read off the Shah Alam Line Fare Table published by Rapid Rail Sdn Bhd, the Bandar Utama (SA01) column of all three matrices. Rapid KL dates the table “Data as at 6 June 2026”. The first row is the same-station figure printed on the diagonal.

And from the other end:

ToCash / ticketCashlessConcession
SA01 Bandar UtamaRM 4.90RM 4.30RM 2.40
SA02 Kayu AraRM 4.80RM 4.20RM 2.40
SA03 BU 11 (Bandar Utama 11)RM 4.70RM 4.00RM 2.30
SA05 Damansara IdamanRM 4.40RM 3.80RM 2.20
SA06 SubangRM 4.20RM 3.70RM 2.10
SA07 Glenmarie 2RM 4.10RM 3.60RM 2.00
SA09 KerjayaRM 3.70RM 3.20RM 1.80
SA10 Stadium Shah AlamRM 3.50RM 3.10RM 1.70
SA12 Dato’ MenteriRM 3.90RM 3.40RM 1.90
SA14 UiTM Shah AlamRM 4.20RM 3.60RM 2.00
SA15 Seksyen 7 Shah AlamRM 3.80RM 3.30RM 1.90
SA17 Bandar Baru KlangRM 3.80RM 3.40RM 1.90
SA18 Pasar KlangRM 3.40RM 2.90RM 1.60
SA19 Jalan MeruRM 3.10RM 2.80RM 1.50
SA20 Jambatan KotaRM 3.00RM 2.60RM 1.50
SA21 Taman SelatanRM 2.50RM 2.20RM 1.20
SA22 Seri AndalasRM 2.10RM 1.90RM 1.10
SA23 Klang JayaRM 2.00RM 1.80RM 1.00
SA24 Bandar Bukit TinggiRM 1.50RM 1.40RM 0.80
SA26 Johan SetiaRM 0.80RM 0.80RM 0.40
Read off the Shah Alam Line Fare Table published by Rapid Rail Sdn Bhd, the Johan Setia (SA26) column of all three matrices. Rapid KL dates the table “Data as at 6 June 2026”. The last row is the same-station figure printed on the diagonal.

Three things in those numbers are worth knowing before you tap in. The first is the spread: the whole line costs between RM 0.80 and RM 4.90 in cash, and the cashless column is lower than the cash column on almost every pair, so the card is usually the cheaper way in — except entering and leaving at the same station, where cash and cashless are both RM 0.80 .

The second is that the cash fare does not simply rise with distance. From Bandar Utama, Bandar Baru Klang (SA17) is RM 4.30 while Pasar Klang (SA18) — the next station along, further from where you started — is RM 3.70. Dato’ Menteri (SA12) is RM 3.90 while UiTM Shah Alam (SA14) is RM 3.70 . The operator publishes the table without explaining it, so treat the table as the price list, not the distance chart.

The third is that the concession column is its own table, not a percentage of the others. Rapid KL’s tokens page describes the concession product as a 50% discount , but Bandar Utama to Kerjaya (SA09) is RM 3.40 cash, RM 3.00 cashless and RM 1.60 concession, which is below half the cash fare . If you qualify, read the concession row, not your own arithmetic.

Tickets, tokens and passes

The service page is direct about the gates: entry requires a Touch ’n Go card, and otherwise a journey ticket can be bought at the ticket vending machines inside the station . The word “ticket” there is doing real work.

On every other Rapid KL rail line you buy a plastic token. On this one you do not. Rapid KL’s Tokens / Tickets page says the single journey token is used on LRT, Monorail, BRT and MRT services and then adds, in a footnote, “*Ticket is used in Shah Alam Line” and “*Ticket can only be purchased on Shah Alam Line” . The brochure states it from the other direction: the single journey token and concession token are good for LRT services except the Shah Alam Line, plus MRT, Monorail and BRT, while the single journey ticket and concession ticket are good for Shah Alam Line services only . Keep a leftover token from a Kelana Jaya Line trip and it will not open a gate here.

The concession ticket is a 50% discount for passengers with disabilities registered with JKM, for school students and for senior citizens, and it can only be bought at the customer service counter, never at a machine . Each group has to show something: Malaysian senior citizens aged 60 years old and above present a MyKad, passengers with a disability present a JKM card, and school students must be in school uniform or PE attire with the school logo clearly visible . If the JKM registration is the part you do not have yet, that is a separate errand with its own paperwork — the OKU card and how to register for it is covered separately on this site.

For anyone riding more than a few times a week, the brochure’s own product panel is the page worth photographing. Five passes, five prices:

PassPriceValid forWho can buy it
My50RM 50.0030 daysMalaysians only
Rapid BulananRM 150.0030 consecutive daysAll users
Rapid KotaRM 10.00 (1 day) / RM 25.00 (3 days)1 day or 3 daysMalaysians only
Rapid KembaraRM 25.00 (1 day) / RM 55.00 (3 days)1 day or 3 daysAll users
Rapid KeluargaRM 30.001 day, four peopleMalaysians, weekends and public holidays only
The five passes the Shah Alam Line brochure carries on its own product panel, with the prices printed beside them. My50 and Rapid Bulanan prices confirmed again on their own product pages. Read on 21 September 2026.

Rapid Bulanan’s price excludes the Touch ’n Go card itself, and the card needs a minimum purse value of RM 5.00 before the pass will work . Separately from the five: rapid Mesra is a free unlimited pass for registered Malaysian OKU users, and rapid Pelajar and rapid Emas give Malaysian students and senior citizens 50% off the cash fare .

First train, last train, and how often

Stations open to the public at 0600H every day, with the caveat that approved events can open a specific station earlier . Rapid KL’s general FAQ puts the Shah Alam Line under “train services begin at 6.00am daily and end before 12.00am” — and unlike the Kelana Jaya, Ampang, Sri Petaling and Monorail rows, the Shah Alam row carries no promise of extensions to 1.00am on special days .

At the ends of the day, Monday to Saturday, the last southbound train leaves Bandar Utama at 2356H and the last northbound train leaves Johan Setia at 2337H . On Sundays and public holidays — and it is worth knowing which days those actually are — everything moves about half an hour earlier: 2325H from Bandar Utama and 2305H from Johan Setia .

Two quirks in the published table. It does not roll over at midnight: Klang Jaya’s last southbound train is printed 2500H, which is one in the morning, and Kayu Ara’s last northbound is 2444H . And the counter closing times in the same table are earlier than the last trains, which the operator handles with a note in Malay and English — after the customer service counter closes you can still travel, but by cashless payment only, and you should check the counter closing time posted on the station notice board . If you are changing to another line, Rapid KL asks you to board at least one hour before the last train service ends .

Frequency, from the same page. The first block carries no day heading — Rapid KL does not state which days it applies to — and reads: every 10 to 15 minutes from 0600 to 0700, every 8 minutes from 0700 to 0930, every 10 to 15 minutes from 0930 to 1700, every 8 minutes again from 1700 to 1930, and every 10 to 15 minutes from 1930 to 2400 . Saturdays run every 10 minutes from 0600 to 2400; Sundays and public holidays every 10 minutes from 0600 to 2330 . Rapid KL’s FAQ lists the line’s peak-hour headway as 8 minutes, against 4 minutes on the Kelana Jaya and Kajang lines .

One published rule almost nobody uses: a rail service delayed by more than 15 minutes entitles you to a complimentary travel card, at the station manager’s discretion; Rapid KL’s published process covers paid tokens (exchanged for the card) and card users (who show their card at the Customer Service Counter before collecting it) — it does not state the process for a paid Shah Alam Line ticket . Helpline 03-7885 2585 .

Parking, feeder buses and the on-demand vans

Six Shah Alam Line stations have their own car park: Kayu Ara with 350 bays, Damansara Idaman with 150, Pasar Klang with 58, Seri Andalas with 550, Bandar Bukit Tinggi with 600 and Johan Setia with 519 . Those six add up to 2,227, while the service page and the brochure both say 2,300 . Both figures are official and they disagree; plan around the per-station list.

Parking on this line is priced differently from the older lines. A Shah Alam Line passenger pays RM 5.00 per entry per day, or RM 90.00 a month on a season pass . Somebody parking there without taking the train pays RM 2 for the first hour, RM 1 for each hour after that, capped at RM 15 a day, or RM 170.00 a month . The parking day runs from 3.00am to 2.59am the following day — park across that 3.00am boundary and it counts as two parking days, even if you never left overnight . Use one card at the parking barrier and a different one for the train and there is a RM 15 penalty — on the Kelana Jaya, Ampang and Sri Petaling car parks the same mistake costs RM 20 .

If you are not driving, the brochure sets out what meets the train. Thirteen Rapid KL feeder bus routes and twelve on-demand van zones, station by station:

StationRapid KL feeder busRapid KL On-Demand van zone
BU 11 (Bandar Utama 11)T780: Stesen BU 11 – Stesen Kelana Jaya—
Damansara IdamanT780: Stesen BU 11 – Stesen Kelana Jaya—
SubangT781: Stesen Kelana Jaya – Stesen Subang—
Glenmarie 2—Temasya Glenmarie
KerjayaT779: Stesen Kerjaya – Subang Hitech—
Stadium Shah Alam—Seksyen 13
Dato’ MenteriT762: Stesen Dato’ Menteri – Bukit Bandaraya
T753: Stesen Dato’ Menteri – Seksyen 8
KTM Shah Alam
UiTM Shah AlamT764: Stesen UiTM Shah Alam – Seksyen 24Terminal 17
Seksyen 7 Shah AlamT765: Stesen Seksyen 7 – UiTM Shah AlamPadang Jawa, U12 Cahaya Alam
Bandar Baru Klang—Taman Berkeley
Pasar KlangT728: Stesen Pasar Klang – Setia City Mall
T729: Stesen Pasar Klang – Bandar Bukit Raja
—
Jalan Meru—Batu Belah, Taman Eng Ann
Jambatan KotaT725: Stesen Jambatan Kota – Kg. Sungai Udang
T722: Stesen Jambatan Kota – Kg. Sungai Kandis
Taman Summit, Teluk Gadong
Taman SelatanT721: Stesen Taman Selatan – Pandamaran—
Seri Andalas—Taman Sri Andalas
Klang JayaT719: Stesen Klang Jaya – Taman Kota PendamarTaman Klang Ria
Bandar Bukit Tinggi—Bandar Bukit Tinggi, Bandar Botanik, Bandar Puteri, Bandar Bestari
Johan Setia—Teluk Panglima Garang, Rimbayu, Taman Pendamar Indah
From the feeder bus table and the on-demand van zone table in Rapid KL’s own Shah Alam Line brochure (version 2, July 2026). Stations with neither are left out. The brochure lists T780 against BU 11 and Damansara Idaman together, so it is shown on both rows.

The on-demand vans are booked in the Rapid KL On-Demand app and cost RM 2 a trip, payable by debit or credit card, DuitNow QR, e-wallet or Touch ’n Go card; rapid Emas and rapid Pelajar holders get 50% off that, and rapid Mesra holders travel free . Note also that Prasarana counts Shah Alam Line feeder buses under its bus ridership, not under rail .

What the official pages still do not say

The date. The operator’s own pages — the service page, the fare page, the brochure and Prasarana’s Rapid Rail page — all describe a line that is running, in the present tense, with no commencement date anywhere on them . Two government pages do carry a date, but it is the project’s planned date on a project listing, not a record of service. Read on 27 September 2026, the Ministry of Transport’s Ongoing Rail Projects page still says “The LRT 3 Line is planned to start operation in February 2024”, and the APAD rail project list, which the ministry’s home page links to as “MRT and LRT3 Project Status”, still describes the project in the future tense and lists “Tarikh Pembukaan 28 Februari 2024 (Pembukaan Penuh)”. Prasarana’s own Rapid Rail page says it started managing operations of the line in 2026.

A 2026 date for public service appears in the text of the Prime Minister’s speech at the line’s operations launch on 28 June 2026, published by the Prime Minister’s Office: fares on the Shah Alam Line and its feeder buses would be free “bermula 29 Jun (esok), sehingga 31 Julai” — from 29 June, the next day, until 31 July. That was announced the day before; it is not an operator record of the day service began.

The operator’s own trace of the start is in a different table. Prasarana’s ridership page has a column for the Shah Alam Line that is blank for January through May 2026 and first carries a figure in June: 113,575 for the month, then 1,990,198 in July and 1,180,138 in August . A first month at a small fraction of the next month’s traffic is what a line that opened in the last days of June looks like. Bernama, the national news agency, reported that passenger service started on 29 June 2026; Bernama is the national agency but it is not a government page, so it is written here as what it is — a news report, not a published operator fact.

The drop from July to August is unexplained too. The table is marked subject to changes and carries no note against either month .

Walaoeh Verdict

The single most useful thing on this page is that the line has 20 stations and the numbering has six holes in it. Almost every wrong article about this line is wrong in the same way — it counts the numbering instead of the stations, arrives at 25 or 26, and then invents names for the gaps. If a list names a Shah Alam Line station that is not in the table above, check it against Rapid KL’s route map before you plan a journey to it.

Second: the card is usually cheaper than cash (same-station entry and exit is the one place they tie), and the ticket is not a token. RM 4.30 against RM 4.90 end to end is not a fortune, but it is a difference on every single trip, and the token in your bag from the Kelana Jaya Line will not open a gate on this line. If you qualify for a concession, the counter is the only place that sells the concession ticket, and the concession fares are printed as their own table — do not halve the cash fare and assume.

Third: the fare table carries a date and the timetable does not. “Data as at 6 June 2026” is the date the operator’s page was last confirmed current — not a statement of when the prices were set or a promise of when they will next change. This site re-checks these figures against the same official pages on a schedule, and the date it last did so is printed with the article.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. How many stations does the Shah Alam Line have?

    Twenty. Rapid KL’s service page says the line is “Stretching 37.8km with 20 stations” and the brochure prints “Jumlah stesen 20 Stesen”. The confusion comes from the numbering, which runs to SA26: SA04, SA08, SA11, SA13, SA16 and SA25 are simply not used. They do not appear on the route map, in either station-closing table, or as a row or a column in any of the three fare matrices. Lists that say 25 stations were written before the line opened.

  2. What does it cost to ride from end to end?

    Bandar Utama to Johan Setia is RM 4.30 with a Touch ’n Go card, RM 4.90 on a cash ticket and RM 2.40 on a concession ticket, from the fare table Rapid Rail dates “Data as at 6 June 2026”. That is the highest pair in each of the three matrices; the lowest is the diagonal, RM 0.80 cash, RM 0.80 cashless and RM 0.40 concession for entering and leaving at the same station. The concession fare is bought at the customer service counter, not at the machine.

  3. Can I use my usual single journey token on this line?

    No. Rapid KL’s own Tokens / Tickets page says the single journey token is used on LRT, Monorail, BRT and MRT services and adds “*Ticket is used in Shah Alam Line”, with the ticket purchasable only on the Shah Alam Line. The brochure says the same thing from the other side: the token covers LRT services except the Shah Alam Line, plus MRT, Monorail and BRT, while the ticket covers the Shah Alam Line only. At the gates the service page asks for a Touch ’n Go card, or a ticket bought from the machines inside the station.

  4. When did the Shah Alam Line start carrying passengers?

    The operator’s pages do not say. The Rapid KL service page, the fare page, the brochure and Prasarana’s own Rapid Rail page all describe the line in the present tense without giving a start date, and the Rapid Rail page says only that “In 2026, it started managing operations of the Shah Alam Line”. The Ministry of Transport’s Ongoing Rail Projects page (“planned to start operation in February 2024”) and the APAD rail project list (“Tarikh Pembukaan 28 Februari 2024”) still carried the project’s planned date on 27 September 2026, not a record of service. The Prime Minister’s speech at the line’s launch on 28 June 2026, published by the Prime Minister’s Office, said fares would be free from 29 June, the next day, until 31 July. Prasarana’s ridership table has a blank Shah Alam Line column for January to May 2026 and first shows a figure in June. Bernama, the national news agency, reported passenger service from 29 June 2026; that is a news agency report, not a government page.

  5. Does My50 work on the Shah Alam Line?

    The pages split on it, so here is exactly what each one says. The My50 product page offers 30 days of unlimited rides for RM 50, Malaysians only, and lists LRT, MRT, Monorail, BRT, Rapid KL buses and MRT feeder bus services without naming the Shah Alam Line. The Shah Alam Line’s own brochure carries the My50 logo, the RM 50 price and the line “Pas perjalanan tanpa had selama 30 hari, terbuka untuk warganegara sahaja” on its product panel, alongside Rapid Bulanan at RM 150. Both are official; the brochure is the one that is about this line. Ask at the counter if the answer has to be certain before you pay.


Sources

Every figure above comes from one of these, all read on 21 September 2026.


About this guide. Written by an independent Malaysian and re-checked against official sources on a schedule. It is general information, not legal, tax, financial or medical advice — rules, fees and thresholds in Malaysia change, sometimes without notice. Where a decision affects your money or your rights, confirm with the official agency or a licensed professional before acting.

Who wrote this

Jeff Ng runs The Walao Eh from Malaysia. Every guide here starts from something a Malaysian actually has to settle, checked against the official source rather than a forum — renewing a licence, stamping a tenancy agreement, working out what a government scheme actually pays — and each one is re-checked against the official source on a schedule, not whenever someone remembers. He is not a lawyer, accountant or licensed financial adviser: where a rule decides your money or your rights, the guide links to the government page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.